Being An Usher

After many, many long months of sitting on the sidelines debating if this step is the one I really was ready for. So when one of my friends an usher at the church had to step down to save his marriage, the head usher asked me to step up and take his spot. So I sat around thinking about whether I wanted to do it or not because I have been having my reservations. My reservations were not with God or Christianity but with how things were happening at my church.

I am a very free spirited person and I don’t always like to be told what to do or how I should do it, and I can not stand passive aggressive behavior. So while I was trying to wrap my ahead around that I can not change something I have to right to change I needed to decide to make a decision. So I made the decision to don my suit like a super hero and come to the rescue of my church who was running out of ushers.

So I took up the mantle of the usher that handles locking the doors and operating the lights which is the second most important job for ushers right behind being the head usher. So I took my job very serious and what a way to be thrown into a chaos on Palm Sunday and next week as Resurrection Sunday. I did have an enjoyable time and I probably should have done this way sooner and not put it off for so long by dragging my feet.

God is good, all the time!

Romans 12:11 Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord.
Deuteronomy 13:4 It is the LORD your God you must follow, and him you must revere. Keep his commands and obey him; serve him and hold fast to him.

Leave a Reply

